And How Does Your Garden Grow?

Posted on June 19, 2017

3



As Spring wears into Summer, Lauriate Roly contemplates the joys of the garden.

By Lauriate Roly

We have a kind of “End Of Winter” evening at my house. I like to do this every spring for my neighbors.   These friends whom I have not seen since they began hibernation, as I did, right after Halloween are quite thrilled to have a little party giving us a chance to see each other in person again and to see which of us survived the cruel cold winter.

It’s also a great opportunity to hear the encouraging plans most of them have for what looms ahead, come springtime. That’s when they unhitch their picks, trowels, hoes, shovels and rakes from the garden shed wall and tackle once again the task of cultivating their wonderful gardens with the sole aim of growing the finest specimens of edible fruits and vegetables imaginable.

It’s fun to see and enjoy their excited interest. I like to observe it but I can’t say that I share their enthusiasm. It used to be fun but I grew out of it.

I only started serious food gardening when I retired. Everyone who keeps such a garden will agree that it is one heck of a lot of work. Unfortunately, the amount of hard labor involved, plus my aging aching body caused me to renegotiate my terms of interest in that activity. The result is that I miss terribly the marvelous “produce” I used to “produce.” One advantage of stopping though, my finger nails are always nice and clean now.

Even though I live in a rural farming area, the local-grown produce never would match the unbelievably superior fruits of my garden, and frankly, I never knew, and still don’t know much about gardening. When I did get started, the one stipulation I imposed upon myself was that I would grow whatever I could without any kind of chemical or plant growing additive. I stuck by my resolution and the stuff that came out of that garden, (quite a large garden), was absolutely super.

As an aside – a friendly neighbor in appreciation for some of my vegetables I shared with him, thought he was doing me a favor by giving me a large container of some magic kind of super growing additive, only intending to help improve my garden. Of course, I acknowledged his generous gesture but I never used it. Instead, I just threw it away.

Without realizing it, I discarded the stuff by randomly scattering it over an area where I forgot I had planted sunflowers. Well when the sunflowers started to grow I was sure I was reliving the Jack In The Beanstalk story. They grew and grew, and grew beautifully.

I’m waiting to see what kind of fabulous results my neighbors will have from their labors this year, come harvest time. I wonder if there will be any amazing surprises in the things they will grow.

Getting back to my giant sunflowers, turns out they were the most magnificent sunflowers anyone around here has ever seen. The face of the blooms were at least fifteen inches in diameter and the stalks themselves averaged twelve feet in height, and almost 4 inches in diameter.

(Fee-Fye-Fo-Fum).

Born in Montreal, Lauriate is bilingual; his mother a Geordie from Newcastle on Tyne, his father a French Canadian Quebecer. Lauriate has traveled widely and has lived in Europe. His involvements are primarily of a creative nature focused on Music, Graphic and Literary Arts in the communications fields of Advertising and phases of the Entertainment business through television and film production.

