Cartoon Review: The Oatmeal

Posted on September 28, 2015

5



Hello, all.  I had something deep and thoughtful in mind for today, and managed to get it sort of half-written, but… well, distractions.  Life intervenes, and all that.  So instead of my usual curmudgeonly rant, I will introduce you to The Oatmeal.

Cartoonist Matthew Inman is the pen behind this hilarious, spot-on collection of comic musings on everything from pets to travel to coffee to parenthood to grammar to religion to… well, anything.  Life in general.   I almost always at least get a smile from the Oatmeal, and often will sit laughing out loud at my computer, until Hubby comes in to see what is so funny… and then he gets the giggles, too.

Now, before we proceed, a warning:  The Oatmeal is NOT SAFE FOR WORK (NSFW)!  There is profanity, there is bathroom humor, there is more profanity.  But not always.  If you have the fortitude to click around the site, you will certainly be rewarded with something that tickles your humor.

As an example,  here is the first Oatmeal cartoon I saw that had me laughing so hard I could barely breathe.  The first panel gave me a chuckle.  The second panel sent me into vapor lock.

But wait, there’s more!  A LOT more.  Click the image here to see my Hubby’s relationship with fruit (or salads).  Perhaps you understand, too:

Or my relationship with sports:

And then The Oatmeal also tells some longer, more involved life stories, like this one about his childhood home burning down… partly serious, partly humorous, partly poignant:

Perhaps you are a teacher, and could make use of The Oatmeal’s occasional lessons in punctuation…

… or spelling.  Click around the site, there are more like this!

Or maybe you are curious about new technology (The Oatmeal can be very informative!):

And… with everything in the news these days, from Kim Davis to ISIS to general spouting about God and faith for purposes of political campaigning… I leave you with this.  Enjoy, and be sure to visit The Oatmeal!!

