Joan Larsen Presents: The Unexpected Delights of a Painter and His Gifts

Posted on September 23, 2015

2



By Joan Larsen

I would like to share this secret But I really cannot say Because I promised that I wouldn't A secret this must stay

I would like to share this secret
But I really cannot say
Because I promised that I wouldn’t
A secret this must stay

Out of the blue – truly out of the blue – a gift of a short film arrived in my mailbox. The accompanying card – from my dearest friend – read:

This is for you. Sit down, put in the film — and prepare to be enthralled by this rather young English artist – Gary Bunt — telling his story as if it were just for you. Trust me on that. A few of his paintings – each with a childlike, perfectly wonderful verse to make you nod and smile – I have sent separately. Enjoy those more than once. Just 20 minutes of film will be all it takes, Joan, and I can already hear you saying afterwards: I want to take this man home and keep him forever!

My friend knows me well. That was my first thought before I replayed the film once again, deciding that I must share this rare and wonderful man and his painting/poetry with you. Capturing moments in time, evoking fond memories in all of us — just for a few minutes, we are brought out of our worlds.

Film or paintings first, I thought, as I begin to set this story up. The film will be last – leaving you with the most beautiful story of a painter and his many gifts.

On top of the world Taking in the view Nobody else Just me and you

On top of the world
Taking in the view
Nobody else
Just me and you

One afternoon at the end of June, The sun was shining bright, A man and dog laid beneath a tree in the shade, Waiting for a fish to bite.

One afternoon at the end of June,
The sun was shining bright,
A man and dog laid beneath a tree in the shade,
Waiting for a fish to bite.

Snowflakes falling To the ground In the air A Winter chill Two lovers hold Each other tight Upon a snowy hill

Snowflakes falling
To the ground
In the air A Winter chill
Two lovers hold
Each other tight
Upon a snowy hill

Our father who is in heaven Thank you for the sea Thank you for my two best friends And all you give to me.

Our father who is in heaven
Thank you for the sea
Thank you for my two best friends
And all you give to me.

All things bright and beautiful It's such a beautiful view All things bright and beautiful But not as beautiful as you

All things bright and beautiful
It’s such a beautiful view
All things bright and beautiful
But not as beautiful as you

And now, the film that reflects some of our private worlds, our own thoughts, and life as it once was.

Note, click here to see more of Gary Bunt’s work at the Portland Gallery!

JoanAvatar2Writer Joan Larsen has spent a lifetime searching for the most remote places on Earth.  But it is the polar regions of our world that she has been drawn back to again and again.  She has done research in these lands of ice, and considers Antarctica to be her “other home.”

