Teen Pregnancy: The Old, Old Story

Posted on September 21, 2015

6



It is the old, old story. Young love, flaring passions, secret, unprotected sex… an unintended pregnancy… and life-changing consequences.  Adolescence instantaneously ends, and two young people are flung, unprepared, into adulthood.

Here is a glimpse backward at how things once were… A far cry from how they are today. Just some food for thought.

Scything

A Youth Mowing

By D. H. Lawrence (1885-1930)

 

There are four men mowing down by the Isar;

I can hear the swish of the scythe-strokes, four

Sharp breaths taken: yea, and I

Am sorry for what’s in store.

 

The first man out of the four that’s mowing

Is mine, I claim him once and for all;

Though it’s sorry I am, on his young feet, knowing

None of the trouble he’s led to stall.

 

As he sees me bringing the dinner, he lifts

His head as proud as a deer that looks

Shoulder-deep out of the corn; and wipes

His scythe-blade bright, unhooks

 

The scythe-stone and over the stubble to me.

Lad, thou hast gotten a child in me,

Laddie, a man thou’lt ha’e to be,

Yea, though I’m sorry for thee.

Julien Dupre, Femme versant a boire

Julien Dupre, Femme versant a boire

 

