Market Day

Posted on July 25, 2013

2



By Lauriate Roly

Probably No Big Deal In NYC – But Amazing In Belleville.

There were two things I wanted at the farmer’s market to-day, so I got up early to go there before the torrid zone heat set in again. I quickly found what I wanted: corn on the cob, and a watermelon. The early “ears” of our local corn are wonderful at this time of the year and we all just love to enjoy them when they are at their best.

The watermelons aren’t grown in this area because it isn’t hot enough most of the time, but the locals import them from the USA and they are marvelous, and we find they are an absolutely wonderful treat during this extra hot weather.

belleville-farmers-market

As I parked my car in one of the stalls at the market, I heard very loud drum sounds, which wasn’t too strange, because when they built this lovely new market a few years ago, they also built a very nice covered stage at one end, for the purpose of inviting local talent to perform and entertain the shoppers. So it wasn’t too surprising to hear drum sounds, especially because there is a large Indian reservation close to town, and the Mohawks are always more than happy to provide ritual type dances for the people who live around here.

However, the rhythm of the drumming was noticeably different to-day. It wasn’t like the usual “war-chant” kind of rhythm that I am accustomed to hearing from them. So my curiosity drew me closer to the stage and to my amazement – there were the performing musicians, all dressed in their ritual costumes and very enthusiastically and loudly beating out the rhythm for three sumptuous…

… Belly Dancers on the stage.

Bellydancers

These dancers weren’t dressed up in Mohawk costumes. They were dressed like Little Sheba used to dress and they were really swinging it: tassels and veils flying wildly all over the place as they convulsed magically to the exciting Arabian meter of the drum beats.

It was more than just a little surprising to me to see these lovely dancing ladies so early on a Saturday morning – and so unexpectedly.

The market shoppers loved it; and the Indian band seemed in a trance beating their drums. Talk about a serendipitous treat.

I don’t think there were ever Belly Dancers in Belleville before, certainly not in the market square, and how the Mohawks learned this special music is a mystery to me. Where they found these fabulous dancing damsels is also a mystery. I’m guessing, but I’m almost positive they aren’t members of the tribe.

I don’t know how long the show went on because, as much as I was enjoying it, I had to get home with my corn and watermelon.

FIN

Born in Montreal, Lauriate is bilingual; his mother a Geordie from Newcastle on Tyne, his father a French Canadian Quebecer. Lauriate has traveled widely and has lived in Europe. His involvements are primarily of a creative nature focused on Music, Graphic and Literary Arts in the communications fields of Advertising and phases of the Entertainment business through television and film production.

