Moving Situations Can Be Horrifying

Posted on April 30, 2013

1



The angst of moving a most beloved possession.

By Lauriate Roly

When it comes around to May 1st, my mind journeys back to my days living in Montreal. The reason is because in Montreal the first day of May was popularly known as “moving day”. Almost everybody moved on that day. No one has ever been able to explain why this specific day was generally accepted as the day a family would take up and leave where they have been living to move to some other abode, for some reason or other: that is to say if they were fortunate enough to find a mover who wasn’t already tied up for almost a year to guarantee the needed move. Why always May 1st? The best explanation that I found was that generally property leases were drawn up to terminate on the last day of April.

For years, I was totally affected by stories about moving.

Sad stories about children, and people, being moved, or animals, really affected me deeply.

Then, I had my own personal childhood moving stories; about, specifically… about moving my piano.

I am a piano man and have been all my life.

Piano

Often I held my breath as my wonderful Winter (first) piano, was hauled up to the third story and placed, through the front window, into the flat we would now be living in.

The flimsy looking ropes, the creaking hand-wound winches. The rough looking movers.

pianohoist

I had terrible nightmares about it which followed me for many years because we had to move often and the horrible ordeal would be replayed again and again in my dreams as I grew from childhood into young manhood.

It was terrible. Thank goodness I don’t have to suffer through those times any more.

Even if I had to move, I wouldn’t have that anguish now.

My new pianos are the digital kind: classified as stage pianos.

If I had to, I could quite easily carry one under my arm.

I love them.

They can do everything and perform just as well as the good old Winter did; plus, they never need to be tuned: they’re digital ! – no strings !- no cast iron sound board!

They are wonderful !

. . .

Except, they can’t play those marvelous piano rolls – like my Winter did.

PianoWinter

Born in Montreal, Lauriate is bilingual; his mother a Geordie from Newcastle on Tyne, his father a French Canadian Quebecer. Lauriate has traveled widely and has lived in Europe. His involvements are primarily of a creative nature focused on Music, Graphic and Literary Arts in the communications fields of Advertising and phases of the Entertainment business through television and film production.

