… Like the Birdies Sing

Posted on April 19, 2013

2



By Lauriate Roly

Do Birds Recognize Humans – And Know When To Come Around?

I recently read that birds recognize humans and that they will come around if they think you might feed them or even if they just enjoy being near you for some reason.

I have a feeling this is actually a fact because of personal experiences I have had with birds especially in the summertime, when the windows in the house are opened to let in all the lovely warm, clean, fresh, country air.

Most of my long days are spent at the piano. Not just the same piano, because I own several: which are divided between two home studios. One upstairs and one downstairs, and I keep them all working hard, most of the time.

Image credit:  Studio DiStefano

Image credit: Studio DiStefano

When I work in the upstairs studio, which is about eight or ten feet from wonderfully large branches of beautiful pine trees growing right outside my windows, the birds hear me at the piano, and I truly believe they gather in those pines to hear what I am playing.

When I stop for a break, they jump from branch to branch in a restless manner, as if wondering if the concert is really over. They may even decide eventually to go away. but they apparently can hear when I return to my post, because they reappear and settle down comfortably for the next concert, or a continuation of the performance they had left.

On days when I work out of the downstairs studio, some of the upstairs audience hears me at work, and they fly down and line up on the split-rail fence that surrounds the house.

Again, I believe they enjoy the music, though there is no applause, nor can I say that I have ever heard any encouraging bird-whistling to accompany my music. I console myself about this by excusing their apparent non-supportive encouragement because the music they hear is all new. It is almost always in the stage of early composition, and of course they don’t know the tunes, because they have never heard them before.

All of this is evidence enough for me to believe that birds are quite alert to recognizing things that are going on around them.

(and by this time, I actually think they like my stuff because – they keep coming back: let’s all sing like the birdies sing – tra la la, la la”).

BirdiesSing

Click to hear this charming waltz via YouTube!

 

Born in Montreal, Lauriate is bilingual; his mother a Geordie from Newcastle on Tyne, his father a French Canadian Quebecer. Lauriate has traveled widely and has lived in Europe. His involvements are primarily of a creative nature focused on Music, Graphic and Literary Arts in the communications fields of Advertising and phases of the Entertainment business through television and film production.

