What Do You Hear Outside Your Windows at Night?

Posted on April 9, 2013

4



As warm weather finally arrives, Lauriate Roly laments the mysterious disappearance of a neighborhood phenomenon.

By Lauriate Roly

The question would have more meaning to me if I would be asked what I don’t hear.

I would tell you how I miss the cute and mysterious musical sound of the “peepers”.

I live in the country, very privately located on thirty acres of pristine forest, surrounding a small pond, which forms the end of a long and narrow marshland.

Starting in springtime, the little peepers always thrilled us with their delightful little greeting sounds announcing the warm summer days which will soon arrive.

Photo credit: George Grail, National Geographic

I noticed a number of years ago that this lovely sound simply wasn’t being heard any more.

It is so disappointing not to have that happy sound gently teasing my ear drums.

I can’t imagine why the peepers have disappeared.

I read an article that frogs, throughout the continents in general, are mysteriously missing from fields and marshes.

I can believe it, because only very rarely do I see frogs jumping and moving about the place, as I have in years past.

Often I would have to steer carefully not to run over them when I drove around the country roads.

Such a pity.

Surely our women and men of science will discover what happened to our amphibious friends so we may all again hear the friendly little peepers.

Born in Montreal, Lauriate is bilingual; his mother a Geordie from Newcastle on Tyne, his father a French Canadian Quebecer. Lauriate has traveled widely and has lived in Europe. His involvements are primarily of a creative nature focused on Music, Graphic and Literary Arts in the communications fields of Advertising and phases of the Entertainment business through television and film production.

