Remembering Woolworth’s

Posted on April 2, 2013

9



By Lauriate Roly

I’ve been fortunate enough to have dined in some of the greatest restaurants.

None sticks in my memory more than Woolworth’s.

From where I worked to my night school classes was about two miles, and I would have to walk that distance, if I expected to use the money I had on me to pay for something to eat before classes.

Woolworth’s was half way, and money was an object, believe me.

But most nights, I could afford Woolworth’s prices, and I loved their delicious meals. Depending on what funds were actually available at the time, I could have:

– a hot dog and a root beer (15 cents)

– or delicious chicken-a-la-king (25 cents including a glass of milk)

– or my third choice, which I love to this day, chicken pot pie, with coffee or tea or honey-dew (35 cents).

Woolworth_old

I continued my classes for almost six years and I dined out almost every class-night on these sumptuous and delicious meals almost every time.

On pay days, each fortnight, when I was rolling in dough, I would splurge an extra dime for apple pie. Sometimes I would even go further and splurge an extra nickel to have a blob of vanilla ice cream,  making it pie-a-la-mode.

I still class Woolworth’s amongst my favorite eating places.  Even to-day, when I’m alone and on my own, I’ll sometimes slide into “the swivel stool with the red padding”, and go all out, ordering the chicken pot pie (which still tastes almost as good as it did then), with the honey-dew cocktail, and of course apple pie, a-la-mode – ($7.50, plus tax).

WoolworthDiner

But I can afford these higher prices.

However, without the schooling then, I could never afford it now.

I just can’t help being sentimental…remembering Woolworth’s.

Born in Montreal, Lauriate is bilingual; his mother a Geordie from Newcastle on Tyne, his father a French Canadian Quebecer. Lauriate has traveled widely and has lived in Europe. His involvements are primarily of a creative nature focused on Music, Graphic and Literary Arts in the communications fields of Advertising and phases of the Entertainment business through television and film production.

