Falling Not Far From the Tree

Posted on March 12, 2013

5



By Lauriate Roly

I was taught that I would be a better person if I could restrain myself accordingly. So I tried, from a very young age. Admittedly, there were times I recall, but only too well, being corrected, quite severely along the way;  but eventually it became almost second nature, though never completely easy to keep up my good work. The end result was that in growing into adulthood it was noticed that I was never much into swearing. Friends and family often remarked very favorably on my language control.

After our only child started to grow up I would take her everywhere I went in the car because she just loved going for a drive with her Daddy, and I loved being with her as much as possible. After some time we noticed that every now and again she would come out with remarks that hinted at profanity. Of course we checked her immediately.

Once, when we were gathered in our living room speaking with our visiting pastor and a couple of nuns from the school, intending to bring our little girl into the conversation, my wife asked her who she saw yesterday when Daddy took us to the airport to meet Grandpa returning from Rome. She smiled proudly and said, “Louis,” which she always called my father. He had just returned from Italy where he had visited the Pope. The pastor and the nuns gleefully laughed at how cute my daughter answered. The priest then asked Maddy: “And what did you do when you first saw your grandfather getting off the plane?”  Quick as a flash, my daughter raised her arms and started waving frantically, just as she did when she first spotted Louis coming through the arrivals gate. They found this so cute. The priest continued: “and what did you say, when you saw your grandfather?” Another quick and loud answer from Maddy: Go to hell, Louis!”

Thankfully we managed to live through that embarrassing moment, but as time went by her profanity vocabulary increased remarkably. We couldn’t figure out where she would be picking up such cuss words.

Well, after a while my brother, who knew me so well, told me that little Maddy was learning all these great cuss words while driving around in the car with her Daddy. Apparently my good manners just went out the window when I got behind the wheel. So it became a matter of Maddy quitting traveling with Daddy, or I had to cut out the bad habit.

Well it took a while, but I managed to “curb my enthusiasm,” so to speak, and my spontaneous comments were reduced markedly when I began to notice and admitted to myself just how much better my fellow travelers on the road were driving their cars.

Now, Maddy often drives Daddy around…and I still can detect “untidy murmurs” coming from her whenever anybody cuts her off, or blows their horn at her.

Chip_off_the_Old_Block

Born in Montreal, Lauriate is bilingual; his mother a Geordie from Newcastle on Tyne, his father a French Canadian Quebecer. Lauriate has traveled widely and has lived in Europe. His involvements are primarily of a creative nature focused on Music, Graphic and Literary Arts in the communications fields of Advertising and phases of the Entertainment business through television and film production.

 

