A Game… By Any Other Name

Posted on January 22, 2013

2



By Lauriate Roly

“Kick the Can” and “Red Rover” are games I played when I was a kid.

You might enjoy a little story about another popular game played by the kids in my neighborhood. You have to understand that I lived in a neighborhood inhabited by French and English kids. We played together and learned each other’s favorite games. From the French side, the kids learned a game which we played for years. It was called “Brunchie-Brunch.”  Whenever the kids got together, “Brunchie-Brunch” was one of the most popular games. “Come on kids, let’s have a game of ‘Brunchie-Brunch’.”

One summer holiday time, I went to summer camp in a completely English province and I joined the children there in Kick the Can, Red Rover, and some other games I had to learn about because they were never played where I lived. A new one to me that year was “British Bulldog” ?? A tough game, but fun if you were strong and could take a beating without crying.

To add some variety to the regular games we summer campers enjoyed, I suggested a game we always played in Quebec. I explained how the game was played and told them it was called “Brunchie-Brunch.” The camp Monitor listened very attentively and when I had finished explaining the game she said, “Well, that’s the same as a game we often play here too, only we call it “Run-Sheep-Run.

Well, to my amazement I suddenly realized that here was another case where a French kid picked up the name of a game from one of his English pals, who told him the name of the game was “Run Sheep Run.”  Then when he explained the rules of the game and told his French pals, “le nom du jeu est Brrrunchie-Brrrunch.”

The game became very popular and whenever the French kids got together and played games, one of them would invariably shout: “Maintenant, nous allons jouer Brrrunchie-Brrrunch,” and off we went and had a great time.

If you say it fast enough and often enough, with a bit of a French accent, you’ll understand why “Run Sheep Run” became known as “Brunchie-Brunch.” The kids still call it “Brunchie-Brunch.” Even the local English speaking children now call the game “Brunchie-Brunch.”

Togetherness. So easy… and so pleasant.

Sheep

Brrrrunchie – Brrrrunch!

Born in Montreal, Lauriate is bilingual; his mother a Geordie from Newcastle on Tyne, his father a French Canadian Quebecer. Lauriate has traveled widely and has lived in Europe. His involvements are primarily of a creative nature focused on Music, Graphic and Literary Arts in the communications fields of Advertising and phases of the Entertainment business through television and film production.

