Thoughts from Lulu: How Do We Compromise?

Posted on November 16, 2012

5



By Luanne Keifer

How do we compromise?  That question has rattled around in my brain since the election.  Is it ethics, pride, stubbornness, or the influences of our upbringing that debilitate our ability to not only listen but compromise?

I sat laughing when John Boehner informed his fellow Republicans that not everyone looks like you and me.  Did he forget that the American Indians were here first?  And I don’t think he looks like them.

Then I listened as the executives from LIPA came up with excuses as to why it was taking so long to get the power up and running again.

It seems to me that compromise might have better served the Republicans and LIPA.

Today I watched two children who wanted the same box of crayons carefully figure out the only way they could each have the box was to compromise and share.  They negotiated until each one had half.  It was agreed that tomorrow they would switch halves.  Both smiled and hugged each other joyously.

The compromises that must take place in the next days, weeks, months and even years to rebuild from Hurricane Sandy will only be successful if everyone compromises for the betterment of their communities, cities and states.

It will take teamwork not individual stubbornness.  The same applies to rebuilding the United States.  We have fallen into moral, social and structural decay.

Without compromise I seriously doubt much will be accomplished.  So my question is this…. how would you compromise???

