Thoughts From Lulu: How Do We Buy More “Made in the USA”?

Posted on October 9, 2012

5



Introducing Luanne Keifer, better known as Lulu!  Lulu hails from the American West, has traveled extensively, and now brings her inquiring mind to Forming the Thread, where she examines a variety of current topics leading in with How Do We…?

By Luanne Keifer

I often ask myself How Do I…?  It quickly changes to How Do We…? as I ask my husband, friends, family and business comrades the question that is most bothering me on a particular day. The discussions are interesting to say the least.  Sometimes we tend to agree, and other times we agree to disagree but listen eagerly, and in the end we always expand our options and often take action to solve the question in our own little ways.  At times our little ways have made subtle yet significant changes.

Today, I’ll start with a simple question… How Do We make it a priority to buy Made in America once again, as often as possible when we make our purchases?  Made in China has taken over, yet I know there are American, European, South American, and other products that would boost all of those economies and, I think in the end, help boost our own economy and provide more jobs for American workers.  I am well aware of embargoes, tariffs and the obscure rules and regulations our politicians have inflicted upon all of us, but I do think making the extra effort to purchase as often as possible from countries other than China makes sense.

Do you agree?  I hope you do.  To my surprise I have found a few wonderful products stamped Made in America:

All-Clad stainless steel pots and pans; Bennington Pottery – Bennington, Vermont; Bamboosa – South Carolina – women, men, and children’s clothing as well as products for the home.  I love the long-sleeve top I purchased.

I feel pride in American manufacturing when I look at my Bennington bowls, which I use regularly in my kitchen, as well as when I receive compliments on my top from Bamboosa.

I must admit that I am a true ‘prima donna’ when it comes to shoes and have only worn Italian or French made shoes for as long as I can remember.  I would rather have one pair of well-made shoes, than shoes from China – even designer brands – that fall apart after one season.

I have always put quality above quantity.

I have purchased goods from China.  Most have been fine for a short period of time and then… they seem to self-destruct in one way or another.  Is it just me?

I would love to hear comments pro and con and learn of other products you have discovered, as well as possibly encouraging start-up companies to re-invent the manufacturing of goods we all use daily.

